Affairs of Living

Gluten-free, allergy-friendly, whole foods recipes

Recent Posts

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner

Site Search

Unless otherwise noted, all recipes on this blog are free of gluten, peanuts, soy, corn, tomatoes, potatoes, shellfish, cane sugar, oranges, and yeast. Most recipes are also free of egg, dairy, and tree nuts (if used, reliable substitutions will be provided for these when possible). Check out my recipe index for a full list of recipes by category. 

Save at

Save $5 on your first order from with coupon code QAB040.  Visit now to browse natural products and supplements. 

Ingredients Glossary > Glossary > guar gum

Gluten-free, allergy-friendly, and whole foods ingredients are sometimes confusing. Everyone knows what carrots are.  But what about arrowroot starch, coconut oil, umeboshi vinegar, or miso?  Here is a growing glossary of ingredients that may be slightly off the beaten path. 

Keep checking back for updates!

Search the glossary for entries containing:

Guar gum is a white powder made from an East Indian seed, it is in the legume family, so if you have legume sensitivities/allergies, use with caution.  It is used as a thickener, binder, and volume enhancer, and is often added to gluten free baked goods.  It can be used as a 1:1 replacement for xanthan gum.  Bob's Red Mill is certified gluten-free.