Affairs of Living

Gluten-free, allergy-friendly, whole foods recipes

Recent Posts

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner

Site Search

Unless otherwise noted, all recipes on this blog are free of gluten, peanuts, soy, corn, tomatoes, potatoes, shellfish, cane sugar, oranges, and yeast. Most recipes are also free of egg, dairy, and tree nuts (if used, reliable substitutions will be provided for these when possible). Check out my recipe index for a full list of recipes by category. 

Save at

Save $5 on your first order from with coupon code QAB040.  Visit now to browse natural products and supplements. 

Ingredients Glossary > Glossary > miso

Gluten-free, allergy-friendly, and whole foods ingredients are sometimes confusing. Everyone knows what carrots are.  But what about arrowroot starch, coconut oil, umeboshi vinegar, or miso?  Here is a growing glossary of ingredients that may be slightly off the beaten path. 

Keep checking back for updates!

Search the glossary for entries containing:


A fermented bean paste used in Japanese cuisine.  Miso is traditionally made from soybeans fermented with koji culture, rice, salt, and water.  South River Miso, a company in Massachusettes, makes soy-free varieties using azuki beans and chickpeas.  Miso is a source of healthy lactobilii bacteria, which can help regulate digestion and restore healthy gut flora.  Since it is a live food, for the best benefit, miso should be added at the end of cooking, and never boiled.