Affairs of Living

Gluten-free, allergy-friendly, whole foods recipes

Recent Posts

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner

Site Search

Unless otherwise noted, all recipes on this blog are free of gluten, peanuts, soy, corn, tomatoes, potatoes, shellfish, cane sugar, oranges, and yeast. Most recipes are also free of egg, dairy, and tree nuts (if used, reliable substitutions will be provided for these when possible). Check out my recipe index for a full list of recipes by category. 

Save at

Save $5 on your first order from with coupon code QAB040.  Visit now to browse natural products and supplements. 

Ingredients Glossary > Glossary > rice bran

Gluten-free, allergy-friendly, and whole foods ingredients are sometimes confusing. Everyone knows what carrots are.  But what about arrowroot starch, coconut oil, umeboshi vinegar, or miso?  Here is a growing glossary of ingredients that may be slightly off the beaten path. 

Keep checking back for updates!

Search the glossary for entries containing:

Rice Bran

Rice bran is a by-product of the rice milling process (the conversion of brown rice to white rice), and it contains various antioxidants that impart beneficial effects on human health.  It is exceptionally high in fiber and makes a nice addition to baked goods.