Affairs of Living

Gluten-free, allergy-friendly, whole foods recipes

Recent Posts

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner

Site Search

Unless otherwise noted, all recipes on this blog are free of gluten, peanuts, soy, corn, tomatoes, potatoes, shellfish, cane sugar, oranges, and yeast. Most recipes are also free of egg, dairy, and tree nuts (if used, reliable substitutions will be provided for these when possible). Check out my recipe index for a full list of recipes by category. 

Save at

Save $5 on your first order from with coupon code QAB040.  Visit now to browse natural products and supplements. 

Ingredients Glossary > Glossary > vitamin C crystals

Gluten-free, allergy-friendly, and whole foods ingredients are sometimes confusing. Everyone knows what carrots are.  But what about arrowroot starch, coconut oil, umeboshi vinegar, or miso?  Here is a growing glossary of ingredients that may be slightly off the beaten path. 

Keep checking back for updates!

Search the glossary for entries containing:

Vitamin C crystals

pure powdered ascorbic acid, can be found in the vitamin section of health food stores.  For people who cannot tolerate citrus or vinegar, it is an excellent substitute for that tart and tangy flavor.  It also packs in a ton of vitamin C!  I use 1/4 tsp dissolved in 1 Tbsp water as a substitute for 1 Tbsp of lemon juice.  It also eliminates oxidation of fruits and some vegetables like celeriac, so they don't turn brown.  It is often derived from corn, so if you are sensitive to corn, look for varieties derived from sago palm.  However, I have corn allergies and have used corn-derived vitamin C crystals with no reactions.  Awesome!