Affairs of Living

Gluten-free, allergy-friendly, whole foods recipes

Recent Posts

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner

Site Search

Unless otherwise noted, all recipes on this blog are free of gluten, peanuts, soy, corn, tomatoes, potatoes, shellfish, cane sugar, oranges, and yeast. Most recipes are also free of egg, dairy, and tree nuts (if used, reliable substitutions will be provided for these when possible). Check out my recipe index for a full list of recipes by category. 

Free Shipping on Vitamix

The Vitamix is my favorite kitchen tool for blending perfectly smooth sauces and smoothies, making my own nut and seed butters, grinding fresh gluten-free flours, and more. Interested in purchasing one? Check out the great deals on reconditioned Vitamix machines, or investigate new Vitamix machine packages. Payment plans are available!

Receive FREE SHIPPING to the US and Canada when you order a Vitamix with my affiliate code 06-004943. 

Save at

Save $5 on your first order from with coupon code QAB040.  Visit now to browse natural products and supplements. 

Love it here?


Ingredients Glossary > Glossary > agar agar

Gluten-free, allergy-friendly, and whole foods ingredients are sometimes confusing. Everyone knows what carrots are.  But what about arrowroot starch, coconut oil, umeboshi vinegar, or miso?  Here is a growing glossary of ingredients that may be slightly off the beaten path. 

Keep checking back for updates!

Search the glossary for entries containing:

Agar agar:

Also known as kanten, agar agar is a gelatinous substance derived from seaweed, and is traditionally used in Japanese and macrobiotic cuisine in both sweet and savory dishes.  It comes in three forms (powder, flakes, and bars) and is an excellent vegan substitute for gelatin.  It is rather expensive; look for it in the Asian specialty food section of natural food markets or grocery stores, or at Asian grocery stores.  I've used bothEden Foods and Mitoku agar agar flakes, and my favorite agar agar powder I can get for only $.80 per pouch at my local Asian grocery store (MUCH cheaper than buying it in bulk or packaged at the co-op).