Affairs of Living

Gluten-free, allergy-friendly, whole foods recipes

Recent Posts

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner

Site Search

Unless otherwise noted, all recipes on this blog are free of gluten, peanuts, soy, corn, tomatoes, potatoes, shellfish, cane sugar, oranges, and yeast. Most recipes are also free of egg, dairy, and tree nuts (if used, reliable substitutions will be provided for these when possible). Check out my recipe index for a full list of recipes by category. 

Save at

Save $5 on your first order from with coupon code QAB040.  Visit now to browse natural products and supplements. 

Ingredients Glossary > Glossary > arrowroot starch/arrowroot flour

Gluten-free, allergy-friendly, and whole foods ingredients are sometimes confusing. Everyone knows what carrots are.  But what about arrowroot starch, coconut oil, umeboshi vinegar, or miso?  Here is a growing glossary of ingredients that may be slightly off the beaten path. 

Keep checking back for updates!

Search the glossary for entries containing:

Arrowroot starch/flour:

Starch from the root of the arrowroot plant.  It is white, flavorless, easy to digest and with a low-allergenic potential.  It can be used in baking, as a thickener for making sauces or puddings, and as an egg replacement.  It creates a glossy, clear finish when used as a thickener.  Bob's Red Mill arrowroot starch is certified gluten-free.  Arrowroot starch and arrowroot flour are the same thing.

  • When substituting arrowroot for other starches, use 1.5 parts arrowroot starch for 1 part potato starch or corn starch, or 1:1 as a substitute for tapioca starch.  
  • When used as a thickener in sauces or puddings, dissolve desired amount of starch in a small amount of cool liquid first to make a slurry, then add to hot liquid.  Unlike cornstarch, it thickens without boiling.  
  • Egg replacement for 1 egg: whisk together 2 Tbsp arrowroot with 3 Tbsp water and 1 tsp oil